Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Posted: June 6, 2010 in Hollywood Wanted, Reviews

Director: Chris Columbus
Genre: Adventure | Fantasy
Plot: It’s the 21st century, but the gods of Mount Olympus and assorted monsters have walked out of the pages of high school student Percy Jackson’s Greek mythology texts and into his life. And they’re not happy: Zeus’ lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Even more troubling is the sudden disappearance of Percy’s mother. As Percy finds himself caught between angry and battling gods, he and his friends embark on a cross-country adventure to catch the true lightning thief, save Percy’s mom, and unravel a mystery more powerful than the gods themselves.

What I Say:I never thought that I’d be writing a review for a movie. Well, after watching it I was compelled to write the review. I had a bit high expectation of the movie because of the director Chris Columbus. Let’s come to the movies. The movie is bullshit. real bullshit! Gods wearing jackets and jeans come to the earth just to have a 2 minute chat about how somebody stole the bloody lightning. Script is the real a pain in your ear, eyes, mind. Complete fiasco. Gods coming to the earth to have a foreplay and leaving a child behind becomes just quite unbelievable and illogical as well as not-so-authentic. The actings are terrible so as the directing. The Americans have a habit to use the words like “ever”, “in the history”, “greatest”, “the world ever seen”, etc. Also in the movie we can see a bunch of another demogoddess wearing bikinis(oh yeah! bright colorful bikinis) alluring Percy and his friend. there is a PARTY (hell yeah, demi gods even do party like American Pie). I can continue this like it’s the end of world. But alas! I have no choice to end this short here.

I won’t say don;t watch this one. It was not for me. But can be for some people too who liked Race to the Witch Mountain, Narnia (Oh God! Save me from this agony) series, Eragon. There were some good things like the special effects (which were forced illogically, but cooly).
Verdict?

It looks like the characters of color in Percy Jackson have been paired off, a remarkable choice in a movie that is, in essence, about the glories of half-breeds. he Greek gods had outsized powers and petty grievances. These Gen-Y demigods are no different – it’s a whole generation of kids with daddy issues.
My points go like this-

1 points for the beautiful Alexandra Daddario, 3 for special effects. Rest are just negatives, negatives and negatives. My score- 4/10 And yes, in the meantime go watch Clash of the Titans. It’s all the same but a far better version. Adios!

Comments
  1. Hello there,

    I have a inquiry for the webmaster/admin here at askarvind.wordpress.com.

    Can I use some of the information from your blog post right above if I give a backlink back to this site?

    Thanks,
    Mark

  2. Greetings,

    Thanks for sharing the link – but unfortunately it seems to be down? Does anybody here at askarvind.wordpress.com have a mirror or another source?

    Cheers,
    Oliver

    • askarvind says:

      Dear Oliver,
      Unfortunately I do not have any mirror or other source. Although I’ve published my articles in some forums, but that was prior to this blog.

      With Regards
      Arvind

  3. It’s good page, I was looking for something like this

  4. Hi,

    This is a question for the webmaster/admin here at askarvind.wordpress.com.

    Can I use some of the information from your blog post above if I give a link back to this website?

    Thanks,
    Charlie

  5. I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  6. Aw, this was a really nice post. In concept I want to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… however what can I say… I procrastinate alot and on no account appear to get one thing done.

Leave a Reply

