Mary And Max (2009)

Posted: July 27, 2010 in Hollywood Wanted, Reviews
Tags:

Tagline: Sometimes perfect strangers make the best friends

Director/ Writer: Adam Illiot

Genre: Animation |  Comedy |  Drama

What it’s about: It is a simple tale of pen-friendship between two very different people; Mary Dinkle, a chubby lonely eight year old girl living in the suburbs of Melbourne, and Max Horovitz, a 44 year old, severely obese, Jewish man with Aspergers Syndrome living in the chaos of New York. Spanning 20 years and 2 continents, Mary and Max’s friendship survives much more than the average diet of life’s ups and downs.

What I say: I never thought that I’d be writing a movie review again after a month, when I learnt that my friends don’t want to listen to my arbitrations. Had nothing to see as I was not in a mood for a heavy drama or thriller. I didn’t want my head to engage itself in judgmental inferences or raving adrenalines to rush throughout my body, especially when I had my dinner. Missed Toy Story 3 and How to Train Your Dragons in theaters due to my time-space continuum imbalance and financial mismanagement. Generally I don’t watch movies without reading the reviews. But this time, I felt too sleepy to take a break from my Mafia Wars in Facebook. I wasn’t expecting a dime from this dull looking poster. But when the credits started rolling, I couldn’t obscure my urge of writing something about it.

As simple the name is, as simple the story goes. Without twists and turns, a simple life of two pen-pals. The cinema depicts their life, the events, all containing only in letters to each other. It’s based on such a simple thing that one would be amazed until. The stop motion clay animation gives the characters an odd yet funny makeover and an undulating flavor throughout. The voice-overs are done very well. The cinematics supplementing to the plot of the movie and the narrations are done very carefully and to the finest possible detail. This was not the director’s random attempt. After getting an Oscar, Adam Illiot has surely given his essence of his sense in making this flick. The sensible dialogs with a funny dialect has made wonders. I didn’t yawn once in midst of the show. And after its end my nerves were filled with a rare agitation which I was as unsure as “The Max”.

In many ways, the work of a critic is easy. He enjoys a position where he can scrutinize something under the sun for his purview. He thrives on negative criticism, which is fun to write and to read. But the bitter truth he must face, is that in the grand scheme of things, the average piece of junk is probably more meaningful than his criticism designating it so. Tonight, I experienced something new, an extraordinary movie from a singularly unexpected source. To say that both the movie and its maker have challenged my preconceptions about finesse of Hollywood, is a gross understatement. The movie has rocked me to my core. In the past, I have made no secret of my disdain for movies from Bizarre accent counties. Many times I watched as if I was to become cinematic figurine for having a variety of taste  and tried to savor the inherent meaning lying in them, only to be bittered by the blurred accents and blatant contents. But I realize, only now do I truly understand what I might have been missing for years now. Not everyone can make a great movie, but a great movie can come from anywhere. It is difficult to imagine how the Academy Awards has missed the limelight on this small wonder which is, in my opinion, nothing less than one of the finest motion pictures I’ve ever seen.

I don’t want to rate it. I don’t want to raise any ambivalence. Still to continue my saga as my inventory of  junk piece critique, I might give it a 9/10.

We human beings are bound to a tyranny of relationship which might have other plans. In the tiresome world of pleasing every other one but our own, we might one day realize that we overlooked our diamond while we were too busy searching stones. This motion picture has casted a glimpse how two people were bound in an extraordinary bond. May be I got too emotional, may be you will think of me much lesser or hate me for striking a nerve. But think once- have you ever found your diamond? Then you call me by names, I won’t mind. I will be returning to have my hands on writing similar things soon, but always hungry for more.

Comments
  1. Howdy, i browse your blog occasionally and i own the same one and that i was simply wondering if you get plenty of spam comments? If so how does one forestall it, any plugin or something you can advise? i purchase abundant lately its driving me mad so any help is incredibly much appreciated.

  2. Suk Kennard says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Great work!

  3. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web site!

  4. Dugi Guides says:

    Did you design this theme on your own? I’m not actually significantly of a blog reader, but I Adore this style.

  5. free games says:

    With everything that seems to be developing inside this specific area, a significant percentage of points of view are generally fairly refreshing. Even so, I appologize, because I can not give credence to your whole suggestion, all be it radical none the less. It would seem to me that your comments are generally not totally justified and in actuality you are yourself not completely confident of the assertion. In any event I did take pleasure in looking at it.

    • askarvind says:

      Well the things I have written is my perspective. It is not the whole point of view. There may be another side to the story which I might have missed. But I’ve included as much I could think of. Thank your for your constructive criticism.

  6. Devin Marson says:

    Man you legend. come back see my site, you ought to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

