Aisha (2010)

Posted: August 8, 2010 in Desi Beat, Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

Director: Rajashree Ojha
Starring: Sonam Kapoor, Abhay Deol, Ira Dubey, Amrita Puri, Cyrus Sahukar
Music Director: Amit Trivedi
Lyricist: Javed Akhtar

What this is about: Aisha is a girl with a simple problem – everyone’s business is her business. Arjun is a boy with even a simpler set of beliefs – Aisha should mind her own business. Caught in her web are Pinky, her best friend, the small town girl Shefali, the west Delhi boy Randhir and the hunk Dhruv. Aisha will make sure everyone dances to her tune. And all Arjun wants to do is disentangle that web and get Aisha out of an impending sticky mess.

What do I say: I went to multiplex reluctantly to see Sonam Kapoor in action (never liked any Kapoor really), even though it had Abhay Deol. We were friends, all and young, restless and after a party still strong. I agreed to watch it when I gave it a serious thought that I had nothing better to do had I stayed at my room. So, this review now. Abhay Deol- actor of my time. Every movie I watched starring him, he constantly surprised me. Deols were never so flamboyant, only Abhay an exception. Dude shone like a diamond and glittered like a star.

Aisha, never expected much by me, infact came stronger(read sweeter) to me. Sonam Kapoor did her part pretty with her looks. This was my first movie with Sonam, and girl she impressed me. The protagonist played by her along with her two friends Pinky (Ira Dubey) and Shefali (Amrita Puri) was very well conceived. While my friend was busy getting a glimpse of Sonam, I was getting burned by the looks of Ira. What was in the plot I won’t explain. That’s written above. I’ll talk rest. The movie was full of Milan’s apparel accent like “Devil Wears Prada” and the lifestyles and talks like many folks I know. I don’t approve of such hypocrisy but in movie I applauded to it. The lifestyles were so truly depicted in my favorite city- Delhi. Delhi-ites know very definition of a cosmopolitan and the débutante director Rajashree Ojha followed it like bee after honey.

While the first half was so full of crackles and giggles, part after the intermission was dulled due to the plot. ’twas nice till the ending where I thought for sometime it went haywired. But none of them were climax, so no harm done. Dancing to every beat first half then realizing your mistake for a comedy. And sorry Sonam- this was way better no matter how you hate love stories.

Now bells n whistles- Oh yeah! Music department wise this was one of the rockiest in this fiscal. Amit Trivedi has done a fantastic job. Those who are wondering who this fine man is, let me awe you by the information that he’s the man behind all the bandbajas of Dev D and Striker. And one notable thing that my friends agreed with me was the background beats. With the beats my hands and legs couldn’t stop tapping to air and floor. They were a sweet haven for a drummer.

Now I take a oath- I’ll watch each and every movie by Abhay Deol. Boy’s got talent! I don’t have not much plot to write this time as there are my roomies testing their impatience to watch “Once Upon A Time in Mumbai”, which is my next movie. So, i’m writing this one in a hurry, along with a fact that my friend is constantly raising his boombox with Bollywood oldies and reminding me that he has not come out of ’60s. Gotta close now. Atleast my ’60s Indian will quit ringing Jai Sriram in my ears.

And wait wait. I forgot. Overall this is a popcorn flick, which you will enjoy if you are in a light mood and not into Shakespeare or M.F. Hussain. Till then, girls go to Pantaloons and grab a copy of what Sonam and her friends were wearing in Aisha. My ratings- 6.5/10.

Comments
  1. baby says:

    Nice website!!

  2. TULKA NANDY says:

    Hello Mr.Arvind or shall i call u Mr.Oxford
    well i went to see “Aisha” because i wanted to see Axis mall which is at Rajarhat, Newtown but alas!!!
    the mall and the movie “Aisha” too disappointed me and my boyfriend Bhaskar Chowdhury.

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

