Toy Story 3 (2010)

Posted: October 22, 2010 in Hollywood Wanted, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

Tagline: No toy gets left behind.
Director: Lee Unkrich
Genre: Animation/Comedy/Family
Trailer: Toy Story 3
Ratings: IMDB 8.8/10, Rottentomatoes- 99%

What this is about: Woody, Buzz and the whole gang are back. As their owner Andy prepares to depart for college, his loyal toys find themselves in daycare where untamed tots with their sticky little fingers do not play nice. So, it’s all for one and one for all as they join Barbie’s counterpart Ken, a thespian hedgehog named Mr. Pricklepants and a pink, strawberry-scented teddy bear called Lots-o’-Huggin’ Bear to plan their great escape.

What I say: Long time I’ve not added anything to this read-by-less-than-10-people blog. Still I write. This time I pick the freshest pick of the year. It’s no secret that I admire the 3D animation movies. Like Coke n Pepsi, there are two giants in this business- Disney n Dreamworks. This one is presented by Disney Pixar. Thanks to Steve Jobs. Pixar has given us a whole set of fabulous animated Academy Award winning movies like UP and Wall-E. I had seen Toy Story and Toy Story 2 earlier. Naturally I was excited for the third part too. I’m writing this review so late because of the availability (if you know what I mean).

Last night after I came back from college, I sat down to see this one. It’s a secret that nevertheless I do not study. After a great series I was expecting very high of this one. And I was not disappointed. It’s a good thing out in Hollywood, two great animated movies released around same time- Toy Story 3 and How To Train Your Dragon. It’s hard to pick which one is better. Double mazaa, eh!

The director Lee Unkrich is a great director. He’s known for Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc and Toy Story 2, all under Pixar. Pixar is well known for making movies with very string scripts unlike Dreamworks. The voiceovers, animations, soundeffects, story, music, everything and absolutely everything was neatly and nicely done. The story is like previous versions- search & rescue. Although it seemed to me that it had a dull beginning which is a far cry from the antecedent duos. The movie is not high time funny allover. But I could not stop myself smiling at the witty characters. It had a perfect ending. But it doesn’t reach a real depth till the ending. And one thing I think should be of mention that one will enjoy it fully if he/she had seen the previous  two. Otherwise, there will be less or no character attachment. The people who watch it without watching the prequels, might not like it to the extent as I did. But that’s not a neg point, that’s just a cautionary tale.

To conclude I can say that there are very few cinemas which are great sequels. Among them Toy Story 3 definitely stands out. It is a darling of iMDB by currently clinching 18th spot worldwide and rottentomatoes’ cent percent by top critics. How could I fall into an oblivion! Of course not!  I also join the bandwagon.

I think this one does not need a verdict of mine, nonetheless, it would matter. Still to follow my tradition and to show that I’m a CRITIC, I’ll give it a 9 point O. I’m an expert, ain’t I now?

Comments
  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  2. Ali Ondeck says:

    It’s laborious to find knowledgeable people on this topic, however you sound like you know what you’re speaking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

