Resident Evil Afterlife (2010)

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Hollywood Wanted, Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

Tagline: She’s back…And she’s bringing a few of her friends.
Director: Paul W.S. Anderson
Writer: Paul W.S. Anderson
Genre: Action | Adventure | Horror | Sci-Fi
Stars: Milla Jovovich, Ali Larter and Wentworth Miller
Trailer: Resident Evil Afterlife

What this is about: In a world ravaged by a virus infection, turning its victims into the Undead, Alice continues on her journey to find survivors and lead them to safety. Her deadly battle with the Umbrella Corporation reaches new heights, but Alice gets some unexpected help from an old friend. A new lead that promises a safe haven from the Undead leads them to Los Angeles, but when they arrive the city is overrun by thousands of Undead and Alice and her comrades are about to step into a deadly trap.

What I say: I don’t really remember what was the last time I added a movie review to my (b)log. Much often I was tempted to write one. The peak happened after watching Harry Potter v7.1. But it was well synoptic in Tanmay’s FB status. I could not think of anything better than him (well, I literally CAN’T). My readers don’t miss me. yet that doesn’t mean I’m retired, am I now? Which brings me to this: why have I taken up so much time from playing NFS Hot Pursuit into writing this one. Well, follow till the end.

I don’t like these clichéd virus-infected movies unless they have spicy add-ons like Zombieland. Although interest-less I watched this one as always only because I was having my lunch and I could not find anything better that would do good if i went 5 seconds off screen while having a mouthful. I had seen the 1st part. Liked that kindda though. That might be because that was my first zombie movie and I thought  Milla Jovovich was hot. And that was my excuse for watching this.

This one has an added blonde- Ali Larter. Despite her looks, she acts awful. I thought she was good since her role in Heroes TV Series. Here- Yuck!! The plot starts where the previous part ended and as usual- city devastated by a zombie infective virus killing n converting every human it encounters. Our protagonist Alice goes on and on and on searching for god knows what. Opening scene- Umbrella Corp which was originally responsible for the spread of this deadly spree gets breached by Alice look alikes or i-do-not-know-WTF-they-were. They come bursting into the place and kill every guard like in Kill Bill and don’t get hurt- too much of Matrix. The evil mastermind escapes but gets busted by the original Alice (what’s happening) and gets killed. But to my astonishment Alice comes out in one piece when the aerial vehicle was confirmed to pieces. She meets more people on the way and together they make way for a long journey.

The plot was a pain in my brain and I wished I’d kick Paul WS in the groin. It seemed to me as if there were random pieces made and tried to be joined which had no morphological connection what so ever. Alice keeps on flying solo for half a year and I kept wondering where on the earth she gets the jet fuel from. To err is human, eh! But it is the road to perfection for Brit directors; at least that’s what they seem to think. There’s an action sequence where Ali Larter (Claire) is trollridden by a giant sackhead swinging half a ton axe. We get to know that she knows gymnastics and thus gets wet. She poses as if it’s the red carpet while Alice coins the monster’s head for a Rag & Roll. The director must have thought the audience would actually cheer inside the hall seeing the blondy and the brunette- WET! 😉 Definitely stutter statement for me.

The whole population around me thinks this one is pretty cool. I’m not surprised after my learning in early times that Step Up 3 is the best dance flick ever made. ROFL.. It’s like a blast from the past. The movie is enjoyable, if any, in 3D. The action scenes bring a different perspective in 3rd dimension. IMDB has over 6 rating, out of which half i assume from watching in 3D.

As far my view on this one goes, it’s parallel to the Rottentomatoes which I quote from- As dim-witted and lifeless as its undead antagonists, Resident Evil: Afterlife is a wholly unnecessary addition to the franchise. 3/10– Maano Ya Na Maano. Now, I’m whizzing fast to NFS HP where I’m a Patrolman rank III. 🙂

Comments
  1. Actually definitely very good weblog article which has obtained me considering. I by no means looked at this out of your stage of look at.

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  3. I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  4. Lee Peru says:

    You have noted terribly interesting points ! ps good net web site here.

  5. Andria Kewal says:

    I found your blog on yahoo and will bookmark it now. keep up the nice work.

  6. Very Nice web site. I recently engineered mine and i was looking for some ideas and you gave me some. could i ask you whether you developed the web site by youself ?

Leave a Reply

